top of page


What is ASAPA?

The Association of Southern African Professional Archaeologists (ASAPA) is a non-profit, non-governmental organisation that exists for the purpose of establishing, maintaining and promoting archaeology in southern Africa (all SADC states). ASAPA is committed to the development of archaeological research, management, outreach and the exchange of archaeological expertise and information in, and beyond, southern Africa.

ASAPA aims to act as a unifying organisation for professional, technical and affiliated members, as well as providing a service for all the region’s inhabitants, in terms of this Constitution. Unity is advanced, and diversity acknowledged by the recognition of the different categories of contribution as reflected in the membership of ASAPA.

ASAPA rejects any form of discrimination; whether on grounds of race, gender, sex, pregnancy, marital status, ethnic or social origin, colour, sexual orientation, age, disability, religion, conscience, belief, culture, language, birth and nationality, amongst others. ASAPA recognises and supports the academic freedom of scholars to discover, discuss and disseminate information in their disciplines, provided that such freedom does not impinge on human rights or leads to, or supports any form of discrimination. In particular, ASAPA rejects the practice of distorting facts or interpretations to advance ideologies. ASAPA recognises that heritage resources form an important part of the history and beliefs of communities and must be managed in a way that is sensitive to the rights of affected communities. Such rights include that communities should be asked permission and continuously consulted when archaeologists are working on, or managing their heritage. Communities are furthermore entitled to participate in such projects.

What are ASAPA’s goals?

As a professional body concerned with southern Africa’s archaeology, ASAPA will provide leadership in the management of the archaeological profession so as to:

  1. Advance the knowledge and practice of archaeology as widely as possible.

  2. Support and enhance the archaeological profession and affiliated activities.

  3. Support excellence in all aspects of archaeology and cultural heritage management.

  4. Ensure that ASAPA members act in accordance with the ASAPA Code of Ethics, Code of Conduct and Minimum Standards of Practice that are on par with international archaeological best practice.

  5. Contribute to public initiatives, education and training concerning archaeology and cultural heritage management.

  6. Further knowledge about the southern African past.

  7. Stimulate debate on archaeological theory and practice.


  1. To establish and sustain a network for all professional archaeologists, archaeological technicians and persons who work in fields affiliated with archaeology in southern Africa.

  2. To function as a monitoring and advisory body on issues relating to southern African archaeology.

  3. To promote and develop all aspects relating to southern African archaeology.

  4. To promote and encourage the acquisition, exchange and spread of archaeological knowledge and information in the region.

  5. To organise conferences and forums on all aspects of archaeology.

  6. To develop an accurate and comprehensive understanding of southern African archaeology.

  7. To encourage the training of archaeologists and archaeological technicians in southern Africa.

  8. To promote public education and awareness of southern African archaeological heritage.

  9. To further ASAPA’s interests by fundraising and negotiating with the appropriate local, national or international authorities.

  10. To promote the liaison and co-operation between ASAPA and other associated professions, organisations or individuals.

  11. To actively expand ASAPA membership, aims and activities.

Council Members 

Chairperson: Dr Albino Jopela
Secretary: Dr Ghilraen Laue
Treasurer: Shahzaadee Karodia Khan
Membership secretary: Dr Tammy Hodgkiss Reynard
CRM Reps on Council: Jaco van der Walt & Wouter Fourie
SAQA and Professionalisation: Dr Jane Adigun
SADC Representative: Prof Morongwa Mosothwane 
Transformation:  Co-opted by council
Student Representative: Nompumelelo Maringa
South African Archaeological Bulletin Editor-in-Chief: Dr Natalie Swanepoel
CRM Standing Committee Members: Prof Anton van Vollenhoven & Katie Smuts

Social Media and Communications: Suzanne Sutherland

bottom of page